Recipes for online privacy from Firefox

Beware of Bad Apples

One rotten click can spoil your day

 
Photo by  Joshua Hoehne  on  Unsplash
 
 

More and more of the sensitive, valuable things in our lives are guarded through password-protected online accounts — love letters, medical records, bank accounts and more. Web sites use login procedures to protect those valuable things. As long as someone can’t log into your account, they can’t read your email or transfer money out of your bank account.

It’s important to know how bad actors might try to trick you. Your job is to not get scammed. Here are some things to look out for.

Phishing

This is a form of identity theft that occurs when a malicious website impersonates a legitimate one in order to trick you into giving up sensitive information such as passwords, account details, or credit card numbers. Phishing attacks usually come from email messages that attempt to lure the recipient into updating their personal information on fake but very real-looking websites.

Malware

Malware is software designed to infect your computer without your knowledge. Malware is most often used to steal personal information, send junk email (spam), or spread more malware.

You can learn more about malware and Attack Sites from StopBadware, a non-profit organization that works with partners like Mozilla to protect users from malware and other dangerous software.

Unwanted Software

Unwanted Software sites are websites that try to trick you into installing programs that harm your browsing experience (for example, by changing your homepage or showing extra ads on sites you visit). Browser hijacking is a real thing, but taking back control is something you can do in a few steps.

Get Built-In Protection

Firefox Quantum contains built-in Phishing and Malware Protection to help keep you safe online. These features will warn you when a page you visit has been reported as a Deceptive Site (sometimes called “phishing” pages), as a source of Unwanted Software or as an Attack Site designed to harm your computer (otherwise known as malware). This feature also warns you if you download files that are detected as malware. [more…]